The Association of Air Ambulances is today calling on the air ambulance community to nominate an individual or team, for this year’s Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence.  These prestigious and independent awards, honour the exceptional contributions of staff and volunteers who provide outstanding services and support for air ambulance organisations nationally.

Nominations are welcome throughout the air ambulance community and are not limited to just those who provide the services, but all who are involved in providing the prehospital emergency care services you see across the UK. Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Chair of the independent judging panel, said:

“Year on year, we see many outstanding entries from all areas of the air ambulance community. We would like to take this opportunity to encourage all organisations included within the air ambulance sector to nominate their peers and recognise colleagues for the incredible work undertaken throughout the year.”

“We have deliberately made the Awards both straightforward and free to enter in order to encourage all organisations to nominate their star individuals or teams.”

The Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence are in their sixth year, and have become a prestigious event for the pre-hospital care sector.  Last year saw over 350 people watch Sophie Long of BBC News and Helicopter Heroes presenter Rav Wilding hand 12 Awards to some outstanding individuals and teams.

Nominations are now open to recognise and support the most inspirational people providing them with the recognition they deserve.  The Awards are judged by an independent panel of experts and presented at a gala dinner which will take place at the Chelsea Harbour Hotel, London, on 12 November.  Last year’s winners included pilots, paramedics, doctors, fundraisers, aircraft dispatch staff and volunteers.

Chair of the Association of Air Ambulances, Paula Martin, said:

“The Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence gives everyone associated with the air ambulance community the opportunity to recognise and celebrate those who go well beyond their remit to the benefit of the patient on a day to day basis.  Air ambulances would not exist without the incredible dedication of these individuals and teams, with the Awards providing the perfect opportunity to exemplify their successes.“

Nominations are now sought for the following categories:

  • Outstanding Young Person Award
  • Charity Staff Member of the Year
  • Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year
  • Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year
  • Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year
  • Air Ambulance Campaign of the Year
  • Charity Volunteer of the Year
  • Special Incident Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Innovation Award

Air Ambulance Dispatcher of the Year

The closing date for nominations is 1 September 2018.  The winners will be announced at the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence gala dinner to be held on 12 November.

Further details of award categories, together with a nomination form can be found at:


The nation’s finest clinicians, aviators and fundraisers are celebrated at the Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence

 Almost 300 guests celebrated the best and brightest from the air ambulance community last night at the national Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2017.

Awards hosts, BBC News reporter and presenter Sophie Long and Helicopter Heroes presenter Rav Wilding handed out 12 Awards to outstanding individuals and teams, whose stories were inspirational, astounding and humbling. The awards, which are independently judged, went to pilots, paramedics, doctors, fundraisers and volunteers who collected their trophies at a ceremony held at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel last night.

An enthusiastic audience listened to the remarkable stories of each shortlisted nominee, all of whom demonstrated excellence and commitment well above and beyond the call of duty.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Jim Fitzpatrick MP, said:  “Every year at these Awards, we hear about ordinary people doing simply extraordinary things and this year was no exception. Whether it’s pensioners raising hundreds of thousands of pounds, clinicians performing major surgery out in the field or pilots showing nerves of steel to land in difficult conditions, it’s clear that those working in the air ambulance sector are among the most courageous, talented and determined people around. I’d like to offer my most sincere congratulations to all the nominees but especially the winners.”

Below is a list of all the winners:

Air Ambulance Campaign Award

WINNER:  Midlands Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services

Charity Staff Member of the Year

WINNER:  Frank Chege, London’s Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Bayards

Charity Volunteer of the Year

WINNER:  Jill & Don McLaren, Lincs & Notts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Tower Lotteries

Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year

WINNER:  Dr Syed Masud, Thames Valley Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Leonardo Helicopters

Innovation of the Year Award

WINNER:  Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters

Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER:  Christine Margetts

Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services

Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year

WINNER:  Adam Carr, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division

Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year

WINNER:  Neil Airey, North West Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Safran UK

Special Incident Award

WINNER: Wales Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters

Air Operations Support Staff Member of the Year

WINNER: John Power, London’s Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Allianz

Outstanding Young Person Award

WINNER:  Josh Bright, Magpas

Sponsor: Babcock MCS Onshore

AAA Chairman’s Award

WINNER: Caroline Creer

no sponsor

The biggest night for the HEMS and air ambulance community

Book Now